Join the Fund's newsletter!

Get the latest film & TV news from the Nordics, interviews and industry reports. You will also recieve information about our events, funded projects and new initiatives.

Do you accept that NFTVF may process your information and contact you by e-mail? You can change your mind at any time by clicking unsubscribe in the footer of any email you receive or by contacting us. For more information please visit our privacy statement.

We will treat your information with respect.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.


  • Director: Valdimar Jóhannsson
  • Writer: Sjón, Valdimar Jóhannsson
  • Producer: Hrönn Kristinsdóttir, Sara Nassim, Go to Sheep
  • Country: Iceland
  • Original title: DÝRIÐ
Writer: Sjón, Valdimar Jóhannsson
Director: Valdimar Jóhannsson
Producer: Hrönn Kristinsdóttir, Sara Nassim, Go to Sheep
Winner 2022


Lamb is a supernatural drama about an Icelandic couple who live with their herd of sheep on a beautiful but remote farm. When they discover a mysterious new-born on their land, they decide to keep it and raise it as their own. This unexpected development, and the prospects of a new family, brings them much joy before ultimately destroying them.

Read more

The Nominees NCFP 2022


Nominees / NCFP

Vanskabte Land / Volaða Land / 2022 Denmark

Read more

The Blind Man Who Did Not Want to See Titanic

Nominees / NCFP

Sokea Mies joka ei halunnut nähdä Titanicia / 2022 Finland

Read more


Nominees / NCFP

DÝRIÐ / 2022 Iceland

Read more

The Worst Person In The World

Nominees / NCFP

Verdens verste menneske / 2022 Norway

Read more

Clara Sola

Nominees / NCFP

Clara Sola / 2022 Sweden

Read more

About Nordic Council Film Prize

The Nordic Council prizes aim to increase interest in culture and in collaboration on environmental issues, to recognise outstanding artistic and environmental initiatives and to raise the profile and increase the visibility of Nordic co-operation.

The prize-winning film
The winner of the prize will each year be announced during the Session of the Nordic Council. The prize is awarded to an artistically significant, Nordic-produced full-length feature film with distribution. The film must have had its premiere between 1 July 2021 and 30 June 2022. The DKK 300,000 prize will be shared equally among the screenwriter, director, and producer, underscoring how film as an art form is brought about by the close collaboration of these three main contributors.

Criteria for nomination
The nominated films must have deep roots in Nordic culture, be of high artistic quality, distinguish themselves by their artistic originality, and combine and elevate the many elements of film into a compelling and holistic work of art.

National and Nordic jury
Each national jury consists of three members appointed by the Nordic Council of Ministers (Ministers for Culture). The members are selected from prominent figures whose work relates analytically and critically to film.

Each national jury has a three-year tenure, and the members of the national juries for 2022 are:

Denmark: Heidi Hilarius-Kalkau Philipsen*, Jacob Ludvigsen, Amalie Næsby Fick

Finland: Mikaela Westerlund*, Kalle Kinnunen, Kaisu Isto

Iceland: Jóna Finnsdóttir*, Guðrún Helga Jónasdóttir, Björn Þór Vilhjálmsson

Norway: Inger Merete Hobbelstad*, Emilio Sanhueza, Anne Gjelsvik

Sweden: Emma Gray-Munthe*, Caroline Cowan, Gunnar Bergdahl

The Nordic jury is made up of the chairs (*) of each of the national juries.

Event Dates

Norwegian Film Prize event
2 - 4 September 2022


Contact: Ingvild Vaale Arnesen

Finnish Film Prize event
16 - 25 September 2022

Love & Anarchy, Helsinki Int. Film Festival

Contact: Anna Möttöiä

Icelandic Film Prize event
26 - 30 October 2022

Bio Paradis, Reykjavík

Contact: Hrönn Sveinsdóttir

Swedish Film Prize event
28 - 30 October 2022

Best of Norden

Contact: Sara Henrikson

Danish Film Prize event
29 - 30 October 2022

THIS 2022- Øst For Paradis

Contact: Felicia Elisabeth Jackson

Award Ceremony
1 November 2022

Nordic Council Prizes

Contact: Elisabet Skylare

Nordisk Film & TV Fond

Secretariat for the Nordic Council Film Prize
Salma Reiermark Karoliussen
+47 91 33 77 65

Nordic Council of Ministers

Senior Adviser/Communication
Elisabet Skylare
+45 21 71 71 27