Join Nordisk Film & TV Fond's biweekly newsletter!

Get the latest film- and TV industry news from the Nordics, interviews, reports, trailers and updates on funded projects. You will also recieve information about our events and new initiatives.

Do you accept that NFTVF may process your information and contact you by e-mail? You can change your mind at any time by clicking unsubscribe in the footer of any email you receive or by contacting us. For more information please visit our privacy statement.

We will treat your information with respect.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Beware of Children

  • Director: Dag Johan Haugerud
  • Producer: Yngve Sæther, Motlys A/S
  • Country: Norway
  • Original title: Barn
Director: Dag Johan Haugerud
Producer: Yngve Sæther, Motlys A/S
Winner 2020

Beware of Children

Beware of Children traces the dramatic aftermath of a tragic event in a middle-class suburb of Oslo. During a break in school 13-year old Lykke, the daughter of a prominent Labour Party member, seriously injures her classmate Jamie, the son of a high-profile right-wing politician. When Jamie later dies in hospital, contradicting versions of what actually happened risks making a difficult situation worse. Liv, the school’s principal and the secret lover of Jamie’s father, confronts the community in distress and her own conflicted emotions.

Read more

The Nominees NCFP 2020


Nominees / NCFP

Onkel / 2020 Denmark

Read more

Dogs Don’t Wear Pants

Nominees / NCFP

Koirat eivät käytä housuja / 2020 Finland

Read more


Nominees / NCFP

Bergmál / 2020 Iceland

Read more


Nominees / NCFP

Charter / 2020 Sweden

Read more

About Nordic Council Film Prize

The Nordic Council prizes aim to increase interest in culture and in collaboration on environmental issues, to recognise outstanding artistic and environmental initiatives and to raise the profile and increase the visibility of Nordic co-operation.

The prize-winning film 
The winner of the prize will each year be announced during the Session of the Nordic Council. The prize is awarded to an artistically significant, Nordic-produced full-length feature film with distribution. The film must have had its premiere between 1 July 2019 and 30 June 2020. The DKK 350,000 prize will be shared equally among the screenwriter, director, and producer, underscoring how film as an art form is brought about by the close collaboration of these three main contributors.

Criteria for nomination
The nominated films must have deep roots in Nordic culture, be of high artistic quality, distinguish themselves by their artistic originality, and combine and elevate the many elements of film into a compelling and holistic work of art. 

National and Nordic jury
Each national jury consists of three members appointed by the Nordic Council of Ministers (Ministers for Culture). The members are selected from prominent figures whose work relates analytically and critically to film.

Each national jury has a three-year tenure, and the members of the national juries for 2020 are:

Denmark:   Per Juul Carlsen*, Jakob Wendt Jensen, Eva Novrup Redvall

Finland:    Jaana Puskala*, Harri Römpötti, Mikaela Westerlund

Iceland:    Hilmar Oddsson*, Börkur Gunnarsson, Helga Þórey Jónsdóttir

Norway:   Inger Merete Hobbelstad*, Kalle Løchen, Britt Sørensen

Sweden:   Kristina Börjeson*, Emma Gray-Munthe, Gunnar Bergdahl

The Nordic jury is made up of the chairs (*) of each of the national juries.

Event Dates

Finnish Film Prize event
17 - 27 September 2020

Love & Anarchy, Helsinki Int. Film Festival

Contact: Anna Möttölä

Norwegian Film Prize event
22 - 25 October 2020

Nordisk Filmhelg, Oslo

Contact: Jan Langlo

Icelandic Film Prize event
22 - 25 October 2020

Bio Paradis, Reykjavík

Contact: Hrönn Sveinsdóttir

Swedish Film Prize event
23 - 25 October 2020

Best of Norden, Stockholm

Contact: Åsa Jacobsson

Danish Film Prize event
25 - 25 October 2020

5 FILMER - 5 LANDE i Grand Teatret, København

Contact: Kim Foss

Award Ceremony
27 October 2020

Nordic Council Prizes

Contact: Elisabet Skylare

Nordisk Film & TV Fond

Secretariat for the Nordic Council Film Prize
Salma Reiermark Karoliussen
+47 91 33 77 65

Nordic Council of Ministers

Senior Adviser/Communication
Elisabet Skylare
+45 21 71 71 27

Danish/International Press & Media

Neumann PR & Communication
Freddy Neumann
+45 2046 7846

Finnish Press & Media

Company Jorma Akkanen
Jorma Akkanen

Icelandic Press & Media

Bio Paradis
Hrönn Sveinsdottir

Norwegian Press & Media

Kjersti Vikør

Swedish Press & Media

Åsa Jacobsson