The Punk Syndrome features Finland’s punk group ‘Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät’. The band’s four mentally-challenged musicians Pertti, Kari, Toni and Sami play with pride and attitude. Directors Jukka Kärkkäinen and J-P Passi follow them on their journey from their rehearsal’s room into the limelight and festival stage, including their first tour in Germany. The film shows the dynamics between the band members, the arguments, the crying and laughter. We watch them fight, fall in love and witness long days in the recording studio. It’s a film about the essence of punk, the story of different people rebelling against the mainstream. 

Jury motivation: The Punk Syndrome by Jukka Kärkkäinen and J-P Passi may seem like a relatively conventional rock documentary if judged by its form. It’s the topic that makes it so special. The four male musicians of the punk rock band Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät (“Pertti Kurikka’s Name Day”) are all mentally challenged.  The band approaches both music and mainstream society in a rough and edgy way – which is on a par with the punk rock tradition.
The Punk Syndrome reveals the narrow line between the so-called normal people and those on the fringe. These guys aren’t afraid to have their say both on and off stage. Their take on life remains brutally honest at all times thus giving this humorous and touching documentary its pulsating heart and soul. 

National jury: Outi Heiskanen, Johanna Grönqvist, Harri Römpötti