Join the Fund's newsletter!

Get the latest film & TV news from the Nordics, interviews and industry reports. You will also recieve information about our events, funded projects and new initiatives.

Do you accept that NFTVF may process your information and contact you by e-mail? You can change your mind at any time by clicking unsubscribe in the footer of any email you receive or by contacting us. For more information please visit our privacy statement.

We will treat your information with respect.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.


  • Director: Jonas Poher Rasmussen
  • Writer: Jonas Poher Rasmussen and Amin (anonym)
  • Producer: Monica Hellström, Charlotte de la Gournerie, Signe Byrge Sørensen
  • Country: Denmark
  • Original title: Flugt
Writer: Jonas Poher Rasmussen and Amin (anonym)
Director: Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Producer: Monica Hellström, Charlotte de la Gournerie, Signe Byrge Sørensen
Winner 2021


Flee tells the extraordinary true story of a man, Amin, on the verge of a marriage which compels him to reveal his hidden past for the first time. This secret that he has been hiding for over twenty years threatens to ruin the life he has built for himself. He recounts his dramatic journey as a child refugee from Afghanistan to Denmark. Told mostly through animation, Flee weaves together a tapestry of images and memories to tell the deeply affecting and original story of a young man, grappling with his traumatic past in order to find his true self and the meaning of home.

Read more

The Nominees NCFP 2021

Any Day Now

Nominees / NCFP

Ensilumi / 2021 Finland

Read more


Nominees / NCFP

Alma / 2021 Iceland

Read more


Nominees / NCFP

Gunda / 2021 Norway

Read more


Nominees / NCFP

Tigrar / 2021 Sweden

Read more

About Nordic Council Film Prize

The Nordic Council prizes aim to increase interest in culture and in collaboration on environmental issues, to recognise outstanding artistic and environmental initiatives and to raise the profile and increase the visibility of Nordic co-operation.

The prize-winning film
The winner of the prize will each year be announced during the Session of the Nordic Council. The prize is awarded to an artistically significant, Nordic-produced full-length feature film with distribution. The film must have had its premiere between 1 July 2020 and 30 June 2021. The DKK 300,000 prize will be shared equally among the screenwriter, director, and producer, underscoring how film as an art form is brought about by the close collaboration of these three main contributors.

Criteria for nomination
The nominated films must have deep roots in Nordic culture, be of high artistic quality, distinguish themselves by their artistic originality, and combine and elevate the many elements of film into a compelling and holistic work of art.

National and Nordic jury
Each national jury consists of three members appointed by the Nordic Council of Ministers (Ministers for Culture). The members are selected from prominent figures whose work relates analytically and critically to film.

Each national jury has a three-year tenure, and the members of the national juries for 2021 are:

Denmark: Heidi Hilarius-Kalkau Philipsen*, Jacob Ludvigsen, Amalie Næsby Fick

Finland: Mikaela Westerlund*, Kalle Kinnunen, Kaisu Isto

Iceland: Jóna Finnsdóttir*, Guðrún Helga Jónasdóttir, Björn Þór Vilhjálmsson

Norway: Inger Merete Hobbelstad*, Emilio Sanhueza, Anne Gjelsvik

Sweden: Emma Gray-Munthe*, Caroline Cowan, Gunnar Bergdahl

The Nordic jury is made up of the chairs (*) of each of the national juries.

Event Dates

Announcement of the nominees
24 August 2021

The nominees will be announced at the opening ceremony of the industry event New Nordic Films in Haugesund.

Contact: Salma Reiermark Karoliussen

Norwegian Film Prize event
29 - 31 October 2021

Nordisk Filmhelg, Oslo

Contact: Jan Langlo

Swedish Film Prize event
30 - 31 October 2021

Best of Norden

Contact: Åsa Jacobsson and Sara Henrikson and

Danish Film Prize event
30 - 31 October 2021

Nordisk Råds Filmpris 2021

Contact: Kim Foss

Award Ceremony
2 November 2021

Nordic Council Prizes

Contact: Elisabet Skylare

Nordisk Film & TV Fond

Secretariat for the Nordic Council Film Prize
Salma Reiermark Karoliussen
+47 91 33 77 65

Nordic Council of Ministers

Senior Adviser/Communication
Elisabet Skylare
+45 21 71 71 27

Danish/International Press & Media

Neumann PR & Communication
Freddy Neumann
+45 2046 7846

Finnish Press & Media

Company Jorma Akkanen
Jorma Akkanen

Icelandic Press & Media

Bio Paradis
Hrönn Sveinsdottir

Norwegian Press & Media

Kjersti Vikør

Swedish Press & Media

Sara Henrikson